University Senate - Quality Of Life Committee

The membership of the Quality of Life Committee is as follows:
a. Head of Student Services
b. Associate Registrar, Enrollment (non-voting)
c. Manager, Student Experience (non-voting)
d. Director, Student Life
e. Director, Internationalization
f. Director, Health, Counselling & Accessible Learning
g. Students’ Union Vice-President Academic (SUVP Academic)
h. Three faculty senators elected by Senate
i. Two incumbent student senators nominated by the SUVP Academic, elected by Senate
j. Three other students selected by the SUVP Academic in consultation with the Student Senators’

Terms of Reference:
1. The Committee shall be concerned with matters pertaining to the promotion of a quality of life
conducive to the personal growth of St. Francis Xavier University students. This Committee shall
report and make recommendations to the Senate on the development or maintenance of programs
and services which serve to nurture students’ personal well-being and a healthy community. As
required, this Committee may also invite the Director of Student Life to speak about discipline and
other matters.

2. The Committee shall deal mainly with matters of student life including:
a. The program of extra-curricular activities including athletic, cultural and social events;
b. Student – faculty – administration relationships;
c. The program of student services;
d. The provision of required physical facilities;
e. The inclusion of all students into all facets of campus life;
f. Establishing policies pertaining to student conduct and discipline;
g. Other efforts to promote the physical, mental, spiritual, and social well-being of students.

3. The Committee may, with approval of Senate, include any other aspect of University life which it
sees as affecting the quality of life at St. Francis Xavier University.

4. In pursuance of its objectives, the Committee shall:
a. Normally be co-chaired by the Head of Student Services and a student;
b. Consult with and advise other committees and officials on matters pertaining to its
c. Serve as a forum for suggestions and recommendations from individuals in the university
d. Make recommendations to Senate and/or appropriate officials for the implementation of
programs, activities or services important to achieving its objectives.

DATE: April and October
TERM: One year (Students); Three years (Faculty)
NUMBER: Three faculty serving on Senate; two student senators; and three other students

Committee Elected By: 
Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Shah Razul N/a 3 Year 2020-07-01 2023-06-30 Faculty of Science
Kara Thompson N/a 3 Year 2020-07-01 2023-06-30 Faculty of Arts
Jonathan Rosborough N/a 1 Year 2020-07-01 2021-06-30 Faculty of Arts
Marion Alex N/a 3 Year 2018-04-01 2021-06-30 Faculty of Science
Patti Hansen-Ketchum N/a 1 Year 2019-07-01 2020-06-30 Faculty of Science
Doug Al-Maini N/a 3 Year 2017-04-01 2020-06-30 Faculty of Arts
Chris Gilham N/a 3 Year 2017-05-01 2019-06-30 Faculty of Education
Donna Halperin N/a 3 Year 2015-04-01 2018-04-01 Faculty of Science
Manuel Aquino N/a 2 Year 2016-01-01 2017-04-01
Deborah Graham N/a 3 Year 2014-04-01 2017-04-01
Marion Alex N/a 2 Year 2014-04-01 2015-12-01 on Sabbatical Jan 1, 2016
Wojciech Tokarz N/a 1 Year 2014-04-01 2015-06-01 on sabbatical July 1, 2015
Peter Marzlin N/a 3 Year 2012-04-01 2014-06-01 on sabbatical July 1st
V. Karunakaran N/a 3 Year 2011-04-01 2014-04-01
David Young N/a 3 Year 2011-04-01 2014-04-01
Jason Potts N/a 3 Year 2010-04-01 2013-04-01
Lavinia Stan N/a 3 Year 2010-04-01 2013-04-01
Ryan Billington N/a 3 Year 2009-04-01 2012-04-01
Tara Taylor N/a 3 Year 2008-04-01 2011-04-01
Adela Sandness N/a 3 Year 2007-04-01 2010-04-01
Ottilia Chareka N/a 3 Year 2007-04-01 2010-04-01
Rejeanne LeBlanc N/a 3 Year 2005-04-01 2008-04-01
James Cormier N/a 3 Year 2005-04-01 2008-04-01
Peter Poole N/a 3 Year 2005-04-01 2008-04-01