Faculty Development Committee

In general, the goals of the Committee are to develop programs for Faculty members who seek assistance in improving their teaching, and to foster a teaching environment which is conducive to learning and encourages excellence, through all stages of an academic career.
A) Initially, and periodically thereafter, the Committee shall undertake a review of Faculty needs related to their teaching development and propose and rank programs for serving those needs.

B) In particular, the Committee should annually develop and revise programs which shall

1. introduce new faculty appointees to the teaching expectations of the University, their Faculty and their Departments;
2. provide multi-media resources for use by Faculty;
3. meet such other faculty needs as may be identified.

The Committee shall develop a rolling budget for the implementation of its programs for each of the ensuing three fiscal years, for discussion with and presentation to the Academic Vice-President. The Academic Vice-President shall then seek approval of the budget through the normal process.

- Two elected members of the Faculty of Arts,
- Two elected members of the Faculty of Science,
- One elected member of the Faculty of Education
- One elected member of the Faculty of Business.
- One full-time student appointed by the President of the Students’ Union
- AAU representative

ELECTED by: Faculties of Arts, Science, Education and Business
DATE: Spring meeting
Number: 6 in total
Term: 3 years, rotating

Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Erin Austen N/a 3 Year 2021-01-01 2023-12-31 Faculty of Arts
Opal Leung N/a 3 Year 2021-01-01 2023-12-31 Faculty of Business
Ryan Lukeman N/a 3 Year 2020-01-01 2022-12-31 Faculty of Science
Erwan Bertin N/a 3 Year 2020-01-01 2022-12-31 Faculty of Science
Greg Tkacz N/a 3 Year 2019-02-01 2021-12-31 Faculty of Arts
Joanne Tompkins N/a 3 Year 2019-01-01 2021-12-31 Faculty of Education
Hatem Ghouma N/a 3 Year 2017-04-01 2020-12-31 Faculty of Business
Lindsay Berrigan N/a 3 Year 2017-12-01 2020-12-31 Faculty of Arts
Tamara Rodela N/a 1 Year 2018-09-21 2019-12-31 Faculty of Science
Ann Fox N/a 1 Year 2018-09-14 2019-12-31 Faculty of Science
Carl Adams N/a 3 Year 2016-12-01 2019-07-01 Faculty of Science
Wojciech Tokarz N/a 3 Year 2016-11-01 2018-12-31 Faculty of Arts - Sabbatical
Laura Lee Kearns N/a 3 Year 2016-04-01 2018-12-31 Faculty of Education
Robert Van den Hoogen N/a 3 Year 2017-01-01 2018-09-14 Faculty of Science
Guy Lalande N/a 3 Year 2014-12-01 2017-12-01 Faculty of Arts
Mark Fuller N/a 3 Year 2015-10-01 2017-04-01 School of Business
Tara Taylor N/a 3 Year 2014-10-01 2017-01-01 Faculty of Science
Lindsay Berrigan N/a 3 Year 2015-04-01 2016-10-01 On Leave
Brian MacLean N/a 2 Year 2014-07-01 2016-10-01 elected July 2014
Elizabeth Munroe N/a 3 Year 2015-04-01 2016-04-01
Angie Kolen N/a 3 Year 2012-10-01 2015-10-01 Faculty of Science (on sabbatical Jan 1, 2016)
Jonathan Rosborough N/a 1 Year 2014-12-01 2015-06-01 Faculty of Arts - on sabbatical July 1, 2015
Dan Robinson N/a 1 Year 2014-04-01 2015-06-01 Faculty of Education (on sabbatical July 1, 2015)
Rachel Hurst N/a 3 Year 2011-10-01 2014-10-01 Arts Faculty
Jonathan Rosborough N/a 3 Year 2011-10-01 2014-10-01 Arts Faculty
Joanne Whitty-Rogers N/a 3 Year 2014-07-01 2014-09-01