Committee On Scholarships And Bursaries

-- Inactive (2009-04-06) --

As constituted by the Senate at its meeting of February 7, 1972, faculty representation on this committee is to consist of two members, each to serve a two‑year term of office on a rotating basis.

The Chair of the Committee on Scholarships and Bursaries, Dr. John T. Sears, has requested that the following information be circulated to members of the University Senate.

"This Committee was established by Senate at a meeting on February 7, 1972.

At a meeting in October, 1975, the Committee agreed that its responsibility "to receive applications for scholarship and bursaries from undergraduates and to grant such awards" is exercised through the Awards Officer, subject to the policies and guidelines established by the Committee.

It was also agreed by the Committee that the Awards Officer is empowered to request of applicants any information which he deems necessary for the purpose of granting scholarships or bursaries."


Academic Vice President         [Chair]

Dean of Arts

Dean of Science

Admissions Officer

Director of Student Services

Registrar                              [Secretary]

Director of Student Services

Scholarships Officer

Financial Aid Officer

High School Liaison

High School Liaison

Director of University Advancement

Invite High School Liaison Officers, Financial Aid Officer and Director of University Advancement to meetings.

ELECTED BY: University Faculty
DATE: Second meeting, c. October 15
TERM: Two years
NUMBER: Two members

Committee Elected By: 
Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Brandon van Zyl N/a 2 Year 2007-10-01 2009-10-01