Department News

Subscribe to Department News feed
Updated: 2 hours 59 min ago

Roy Murray

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Roy Murrayrmurray@stfx.ca(902) 867-2443

Charles Beckwith

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
_Charles Beckwithsbeckwit@stfx.ca902-867-3639

Gary Brooks

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
_Gary Brooksgpbrooks@stfx.ca902-867-2315Annex 108

Stephen Smith

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Research TechnicianStephen Smithssmith@stfx.ca

Sherry Bowman

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Retired FacultySherry Bowmansbowman@stfx.caSomers Hall BC2B

Robert Ryan

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Robert Ryanrryan@stfx.ca(902) 867-5728Xavier Hall Rm 222

Gene Smith

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Gene Smithgsmith@stfx.ca

Chris Wright

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Chris Wrightcwright@stfx.ca

Gregory Mackinnon

Mon, 2018-02-12 14:19
Retired FacultyGregory Mackinnongmackinn@stfx.ca

Rod Michalko

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
_Rod Michalkormichalk@stfx.ca902-867-2492Annex 9D

Karen Maceachern

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Text Book Dept.Karen Maceachernkmaceach@stfx.ca902-867-5087Bloomfield Centre 113

Ronald Mackinnon

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Retired FacultyRonald Mackinnonrmackinn@stfx.ca

Linda Henke

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Development OfficerLinda Henkelhenke@stfx.ca902-867-5017Xavier Hall 110

Ronald Nash

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
_Ronald Nashrnash@stfx.caAnnex 10A

Rom Palepu

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Rom Palepurpalepu@stfx.caPhysical Sciences Complex 3060

Teri Emrich

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Course DeveloperTeri Emrichtemrich@stfx.ca

Sharon Doyle

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Distance Education ProfessorSharon Doylesdoyle@stfx.ca

Bruce Macdonald

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Bruce Macdonaldbfmacdon@stfx.ca

Natalie Cormier

Mon, 2018-02-12 13:13
Lab InstructorNatalie Cormierncormier@stfx.ca(902) 867-5254Physical Sciences Complex 3045

Scholarship showcased in Faculty Research Day; 2nd annual Research Scholarship Report launched

Thu, 2018-02-08 14:00
Human kinetics professor Dr. Charlene Weaving during a poster presentation at StFX Faculty Research Day

The MacKay Room in StFX’s Bloomfield Centre was turned into a veritable showcase of ideas, scholarship and innovation Feb. 8 during the university’s first Faculty Research Day, which saw professors from departments across campus present their research, on topics as diverse as assessing the impact of community-based arts programs on health and well-being to the labour force readiness of Aboriginal youth.

Concluding the day, StFX also celebrated major research accomplishments from the past year, launching the 2015-16 StFX Research Scholarship Report with a wine and cheese research reception in the McNeil Gallery, Schwartz School of Business.

Research report.jpg

StFX Academic Vice-President & Provost Dr. Kevin Wamsley speaks at the research reception launch of the 2015-16 StFX Research Scholarship Report (see more on the report below). 

During the morning and early afternoon, visitors to Bloomfield’s MacKay Room had the chance to take in 25 oral presentations and 22 poster presentations, covering a wide variety of topics.

“Quite simply, it helps to reinforce and to celebrate the important role of research at StFX,” says Dr. Richard Isnor, Associate Vice President, Research and Graduate Studies, whose office hosted the event.

Dr. Isnor says while StFX has had many thematic workshops and conferences, this is the first time it has held a campus-wide faculty research day of this nature. The idea, he says, came from several sources.

“One was the success that we are seeing with the Student Research Day and wanting to have a similar session whereby faculty and students could learn more about faculty research efforts.

“A second motivation,” he says, “was the suggestion by faculty that we need more events to profile and communicate about faculty research on campus. The idea has also been discussed in various faculty strategic plans, as well as the University Strategic Plan.”

Dr. Isnor says hosting such an event helps demonstrate the diversity of research efforts and invites the campus community, including students and the community, to learn more about what StFX faculty work on in addition to their teaching duties. It can also help motivate students to engage with research, to pique their interest in research, he says. 

“Finally, it improves the awareness of research efforts across our faculties, departments and programs and may create new discussions on research among our faculty members.”

“This is a great idea for our university,” StFX Academic Vice-President & Provost Dr. Kevin Wamsley said in opening remarks as he thanked by Dr. Isnor and Marie Gillis, Research Administrative Coordinator, for all their efforts in preparing for the day.

The day complements and adds to the many activities that happen on campus, he says, and provides a focus on celebrating all the great things happening in the departments.

RESEARCH SCHOLARSHIP REPORT

In conjunction with StFX Faculty Research Day, the university also launched the 2015-16 StFX Research Scholarship Report Feb. 8 with a wine and cheese research reception and celebration.

“Even after almost 20 years in this office, I am still impressed by the breadth and excellence of the research being conducted at StFX. Our tradition of involving undergraduates in research fosters a truly rich learning environment for our students,” says John Blackwell, StFX Director, Research Grants Office.

The StFX community first gathered in January 2017 for the inaugural launch of the 2014-15 Scholarship Report, a broad and impressive summary of the research and scholarship achievements of StFX faculty and staff. The report is now an annual event at StFX celebrating research and scholarship. 

Pages