Committee on Reconciliation (formerly known as Committee on Indigenization)

Committee on Reconciliation Academic Program Circle:

Proposed Terms of Reference

1.  Proposed Terms of Reference for the Committee on Reconciliation’s Academic Program Circle (note: it is expected that confirming the ToR, and membership, will be one of the first tasks of the newly formed committee)

a. To aid in developing a decolonizing strategy for the University that is aligned with the Equity Pillar in the Strategic Plan

b. To review university academic policies and processes related to decolonization/reconciliation and make recommendations to the AVP regarding meeting recommendations of TRC

c. To help create spaces for Indigenous ways to come together with current academic practices

d. To organize gatherings of faculty members (in cooperation with the faculty development committee, CABSS, University Equity Officer) and provide education/training around issues related to decolonizing classrooms, creating culturally sensitive spaces for students.

e. To make recommendations to Joint Committee on Studies/AVP regarding new academic initiatives aimed at Reconciliation/decolonization

f. To work with other circles of the University Committee on Reconciliation on campus-wide initiatives that extend beyond the academic circle.


2.  Proposed membership (terms for first official committee of 1-3 years, staggered)

a. One faculty member from each of the 4 faculties

b. The Dean of whatever faculty is acting as the Chair of the Academic Programming Circle of the Univeristy wide-CoR. (Chair)

c. Knowledge-Keeper in Residence* (standing member)

d. Elected Aboriginal Representative on Student Union (standing member)

e. Aboriginal student society representative (standing member)

f. Member of Student Services (appointed, rotating)

*Note: the title “Elder in Residence” has been changed to “Knowledge-Keeper in Residence”, following consultation with Community members.

Other suggested members might include a member from Coady/Extension, a librarian and/or a member of the (to be formed) Centre for Teaching and Learning, and potentially 2 members at large.

3.  The Committee would be elected by General Faculty, and report to/make recommendations to the Academic Vice President (who would in turn report to General Faculty and Senate).


Committee Elected By: 
Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Jacqueline van Wijlen N/a 3 Year 2020-07-01 2023-06-30 Faculty of Science
Mikael Haller N/a 3 Year 2019-07-01 2022-06-30 Faculty of Arts
Shelley Price N/a 3 Year 2018-11-01 2021-06-30 Faculty of Business
Lisa Lunney Borden N/a 3 Year 2018-11-01 2021-06-30 Faculty of Education
Tara Taylor N/a 2 Year 2018-11-01 2020-06-30 Faculty of Science
Maureen Moynagh N/a 1 Year 2018-11-01 2019-06-30 Faculty of Arts