The Centre For Regional Studies


CRS supports research into the economic, cultural, social, historical, and political development of the Atlantic region, and is a channel through which community concerns can be brought to the faculty and research results of the faculty can be brought to the community.



The Centre for Regional Studies (CRS) will consist of eight Board members. The CRS Board shall include:
a) One Chair to oversee research related matters and the day-to-day operation of the CRS. This position will also involve preparation of the research grant application to SSHRC (every three years).
b) One Administrative Chair to oversee the deliberations concerning the granting of research projects in the fall and spring of each academic year. This individual will not be eligible for applying to the CRS for research funding, and must be present during the deliberations concerning any research applications.
c) One member from the community served by St. Francis Xavier University. This individual should have practical interests in the research mandate of the CRS. This individual is not eligible for research funding.
d) In addition to the Research and Administrative Chairs, four faculty members and one Extension Department member will sit on the CRS Board. One of the representatives from the Extension Department will not be eligible for research funding. This will give the CRS Board a total of three out of nine members who will not be eligible for research funding.
e) All terms on the CRS Board are for a period of three years.


ELECTED BY: Nominated by faculty, appointed by President
DATE: October
TERM: 3 years
NUMBER: 7 faculty plus 1 from Extension Office

Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Leona English Chair 3 Year 2007-10-01 2010-10-01
Jim Bickerton N/a 3 Year 2006-10-01 2009-10-01
William Radford N/a 3 Year 2006-10-01 2009-10-01
John Phyne N/a 3 Year 2000-10-01 2003-10-01
John Blackwell N/a 3 Year Ex Officio
Todd Boyle N/a 3 Year
Maureen Moynagh N/a 3 Year
Jane McMillan N/a 3 Year
Tom Mahaffey Chair 3 Year
Lynda Harling-Stalker N/a 3 Year
Peter Clancy N/a 3 Year
Phil Davison N/a 3 Year