Appeals Committee

(a)        The Appeals Committee shall consist of:

  • three (3) full time students appointed by the Director of Student Life, in consultation with the Students’ Union, for a term of one (1) year, with eligibility for reappointment.
  • two (2) full time Faculty members elected by Senate, for a term of three (3) years. No Faculty members shall serve more than two (2) complete terms consecutively.
  • one (1) staff member appointed by the President.

(b)        The Appeals Committee shall hear appeals from the decisions of the Manager, Restorative Justice and Student Conduct, Director of Student Life, or the Discipline Committee.

(c)        The Appeals Committee shall hear an appeal based only on the evidence presented to the adjudicator unless the Chair of the Appeals Committee determines that special circumstances warrant the introduction of new evidence, in addition to the evidence already considered by the adjudicative body.

(d)        The standard for appeal is unreasonableness. The Appeals Committee shall only overturn or amend the findings and/or outcomes if it finds such adjudication to have been unreasonable in all of the circumstances. Otherwise, the Appeals Committee shall not substitute its opinion for a reasonable opinion of the Discipline Committee.

(e)        Quorum for any sitting of the Appeals Committee shall consist of four members, which must include two student members. One of the qualifying members shall sit as Chair, if the regular Chair is not present.

(f)        The Appeals Committee shall elect a Chair, who shall be a staff member or faculty member of the Appeals Committee.

(g)        Except as otherwise noted, the procedural provisions with respect to the Discipline Committee shall apply in like manner to the Discipline Appeals Committee.

(h)        An appeal to the Discipline Appeals Committee shall be filed in writing with the Director of Student Life within seven (7) calendar days of the decision or the adjudication under appeal.


(a)        In the event there are insufficient members available to constitute a quorum for any adjudicative body, the appointing authority may appoint a temporary substitute.

(b)        No person shall be eligible to sit on the Discipline Committee at the same time as that person is a member of the Appeals Committee, for the same case.


ELECTED BY: University Faculty

DATE: April

TERM: Three (3) years

NUMBER: 2 Members

Committee Elected By: 
Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
Debbie Vossen N/a 3 Year 2020-07-01 2023-06-30 Faculty of Science
Reed Thomas N/a 3 Year 2019-07-01 2022-06-30 Faculty of Education
Riley Chisholm N/a 3 Year 2017-05-01 2020-06-30 Faculty of Arts
Bhasker Mukerji N/a 3 Year 2016-05-01 2019-06-30 Faculty of Business
Barry Taylor N/a 3 Year 2014-10-01 2017-05-01
Man Lin N/a 3 Year 2013-10-01 2016-05-01
Bobbi Morrison N/a 1 Year 2013-10-01 2016-05-01
Mark Fuller N/a 3 Year 2011-10-01 2014-10-01
Dan Robinson N/a 3 Year 2011-10-01 2014-10-01
Peter Mallory N/a 3 Year 2010-10-01 2013-10-01
Mathias Nilges N/a 3 Year 2008-10-01 2011-10-01
Iker Gondra N/a 3 Year 2008-10-01 2011-10-01
Jeff McNally N/a 3 Year 2007-10-01 2010-10-01
Donna Gallant N/a 3 Year 2006-10-01 2009-10-01
Robert Zecker N/a 3 Year 2004-10-01 2007-10-01
Hosein Marzi N/a 3 Year 2004-10-01 2007-10-01
Tony Miller N/a 3 Year 2003-10-01 2006-10-01
Gary Brooks N/a 3 Year 2002-10-01 2005-10-01
Catriona Parsons N/a 3 Year 2002-10-01 2005-10-01
Len Pluta N/a 3 Year 2001-10-01 2004-10-01
Barb Sproull-Seplaki N/a 3 Year 2001-10-01 2004-10-01
Dorothy Lander N/a 3 Year 1999-10-01 2002-10-01