Animal Care Committee

The Animal Care Committee ensures Canadian Council on Animal Care regulations are followed with respect to both animal care and animal use protocols in both teaching and research at StFX.

Minimum membership includes:

1. Two faculty members who use animals in either teaching or research (3 year appointments, renewable once)

2. One faculty member who does not use animals in either teaching or research (3 year appointment, renewable once)

3. One veterinarian

4. One community member not affiliated with StFX and not involved in animal use teaching or research

5. Senior Animal Care Technician

6. Student representative (graduate representative, nominated by the StFX students' society)

7. Animal Care Committee Coordinator

REPORTS TO: Academic Vice-President

Committee Elected By: 
Committee Active/Inactive/Obsolete: 

Committee Membership

Name Role Term Start End Comment
John McKenna Chair 3 Year 2018-09-01 2021-08-31 Faculty of Arts
Daniel Kane N/a 3 Year 2017-10-31 2020-10-30 Faculty of Science
Peter McCormick N/a 3 Year 2019-09-26 2020-09-30 Faculty of Arts
Erika Koch N/a 3 Year 2015-11-01 2018-10-31 Faculty of Arts
Russell Wyeth Chair 3 Year 2015-07-01 2018-09-01 Faculty of Science
Doug Al-Maini N/a 2 Year 2013-05-01 2015-09-01 Faculty of Arts
Karen Brebner Chair 3 Year 2012-08-01 2015-07-01 Faculty of Arts
David Garbary Chair 3 Year 2011-05-01 2014-08-01
Doug Al-Maini N/a 2 Year 2012-08-01 2013-05-01